Chesterton Tribune



CHS Wrestlers win 5th straight Sectional title, pick up 6 individual titles

Back To Front Page



The Chesterton wrestling team handled its business.

The Trojans picked up their fifth consecutive IHSAA Sectional championship team title on Saturday at LaPorte and brought home six individual titles as well.

“It was our goal to get a team title and we did that,” Chesterton coach Chris Joll said. “We aren’t down like a lot of other teams seem to be. We seem to be staying competitive even with some losses in man power. We’ve got a full team with some solid veterans in there.”

Chesterton amassed 270 team points to beat runner-up New Prairie (238). LaPorte (188) was third with Valparaiso (165) fourth.

“Ours was one of the closest Sectionals in the area,” Joll said. “Good programs are still good and struggling programs are struggling.”

The Trojans racked up six individual titles beginning with Chris Merrill at 113 pounds. Merrill beat New Prairie’s Dusty Young in just 51 seconds in the finals.

“Chris just had to wrestle once, so he just did what he was supposed to do,” Merrill said.

Danny Tolin rolled through the competition at 120 pounds with just 78 seconds of work in two victories. His finals win over New Prairie’s Jacob Abbott took just 19 seconds.

“Danny spent probably 60 secs in his two matches combined,” Joll said. “He just got out and got it done. That was what he needed to do.”

Ethan Kaiser’s road wasn’t as easy, but was equally as effective culminating in a 13-8 decision over Brayden Ruiz of New Prairie at 132 pounds.

“Ethan’s win in the finals was a revenge match over a kid that beat him earlier in the year,” Joll said. “He was able to calm himself down and make a plan and then get it done.”

At 145 pounds, Nick Winland worked his way to a pin at the 3:08 mark in the finals against Valparaiso’s Brycen Nylin.

“Nick was in a close match with a guy we had seen a couple times before,” Joll said. “We caught him in a headlock and were able to finish it.”

Brock Ellis improved to 33-2 on the year with a pair of fall victories including a win over LaPorte’s Skyler Querry in the finals.

“Brock did a great job. He had two pins and did some really good stuff,” Joll said. “It’s exciting to have a kid at his caliber at his age that can just go out and handle his business. He finds ways to win.”

The final champ for the Trojans came as Evan Bates improved to 41-2 in garnering the 182 pound title. In the finals, Bates beat LaPorte’s Noah Perez 5-0.

“Evan had a good match in the finals,” Joll said. “It was 5-0 early and a good six-minute match. It was another LaPorte kid that wrestled well.”

The Trojans also had four wrestlers earn runner-up finishes including Luke Stento (106), Brandon Bolin (126), Cade Johnson (138) and Gavin Layman (160).

“I don’t see why we can’t get 10 guys on to the Semistate,” Joll said. “If we get 10 guys through, we’ll be right up there for a team title with Crown Point.”

The only bitter pill to swallow for the Trojans was the loss of Gage DeMarco at 170 pounds. Leading in the semifinals against eventual champion Colin Kwiatkowski of Valpo, DeMarco broke his right arm and injury defaulted out of the tournament.

“It was disappointing to lose Gage,” Joll said. “He snapped his arm in a really good match against a good Valpo kid that ended up winning the weight class.”

The Trojans’ trek through the state tournament continues on Saturday when they head to the IHSAA Crown Point Regional beginning at 9 a.m.

IHSAA Sectional


Team Results

1. Chesterton, 270; 2. New Prairie, 238; 3. LaPorte, 188; 4. Valparaiso, 165; 5. John Glenn, 104.5; 6. North Judson, 97; 7. Michigan City, 91.5; 8. Knox, 17.Individual Results

Championship Round

106 -- Stefan Vitello (V) fall Luke Stento ©, 3:41. 113 -- Chris Merrill © fall Dusty Young (NP), :51. 120 -- Danny Tolin © fall Jacob Abbott (NP), :19. 126 -- Jak Krouse (V) fall Brandon Bolin ©, 6:00. 132 -- Ethan Kaiser © dec. Brayden Ruiz (NP), 13-8. 138 -- Tyson Nisley (LP) dec. Cade Johnson ©, 9-4. 145 -- Nick Winland © fall Brycen Nylin (V), 3:08. 152 -- Brock Ellis © fall Skyler Querry (LP), 3:21. 160 -- Matt Neff (LP) dec. Gavin Layman ©, 3-0. 170 -- Colin Kwiatkowski (V) dec. Luke Lenig (NP), 8-0. 182 -- Evan Bates © dec. Noah Perez (LP), 5-0. 195 -- Grant Johnson (NP) fall Jaden Browder (LP), 3:20. 220 -- John Wilcher (MC) fall JB Cioe (V), 1:55. 285 -- Brody Miskimon (JG) fall Hunter Whitenack (NP), 2:26.

Consolation Round

106 -- Brecken Joseph (L) fall Nathan May (JG), 2:26. 113 -- NA. 120 -- Angillo Mitchell (LP) fall Michael Sobeck (V), 1:39. 126 -- Christian Szalajko (NJ) fall JJ Blount (NP), 2:11. 132 -- Jacob Dewes (LP) fall Jack Madsen (NJ), 1:42. 138 -- Jerome Anderson (MC) dec. Jack Thursby (V), 5-2. 145 -- Austin Lesniak (NP) dec. Brandon Becker (JG), 9-1. 152 -- Aidan Pollitt (V) dec. Gage Van Schock (NP), 9-2. 160 -- Michael Rodriguez (NP) dec. Aaron Sherman (JG), 6-3. 170 -- Tyler Blount (NJ) inj. def. Gage DeMarco ©. 182 -- Ben Lee (NP) dec. Chandler Atrim (MC), 11-5. 195 -- Michael Clemons (NJ) dec. Dillon Johnson ©, 6-2. 220 -- Javier Padilla (NP) dec. Wil Stone (LP), 4-0. 285 -- Cody Winkler (K) fall Steve Nelson ©, 2:32.



Posted 1/28/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search