Chesterton Tribune



Captain Tim Manteuffel is new Porter County Sheriff Chief Chief Deputy

Back To Front Page


Porter County Sheriff Dave Reynolds is announcing a new Chief Deputy.

Capt. Timothy Manteuffel, a 16-year veteran of the PCSP, is succeeding Capt. Jeff Biggs in that position.

Biggs, retaining his rank, has been assigned to the Detective Bureau and is at work in investigations. “I would like to thank Jeff for all of his hard work and commitment to the Sheriff’s Office as my Chief,” Reynolds said in a statement released after deadline on Tuesday. “I have no doubt that will continue with his new assignment to the Detective Bureau.”

Manteuffel is a 1994 Portage High School graduate who began his career at the Indiana University Police Department, working as a dispatcher. In 1998, he was hired by the Valparaiso University Police Department and in 2000 attended the Northwest Indiana Law Enforcement Academy.

In 2003, Manteuffel went to work as a deputy with the PCSP and during his career has served as assistant leader on the SWAT Team, general operator, less lethal instructor, and chemical munitions instructor. Manteuffel has also supervised the Firearms Division, is a Taser instructor, a CVSA operator, a rifle instructor, and coordinated the Honor Guard and Bike Patrol. Manteuffel has spent the last 11 years working in the Investigations Division, where he has been the coordinator for the Porter County H.O.R.T. (Heroin Overdose Response Team) under the direction of Sheriff Reynolds.

In 2016 Manteuffel was assigned to oversee the Porter County Drug Task Force and was the Task Force Coordinator for the newly formed Porter County Multi-Enforcement Group (PCMEG).

Manteuffel has received an Associate Degree from Vincennes University and a Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice from Indiana University Northwest. He is a graduate as well of Leadership Northwest Indiana.

Meanwhile, Reynolds has also welcomed to his staff a new Administrative Assistant, Laura Meyer, who comes to the PCSP from the Clerk’s Office.

Retaining their appointments are Major Gary Gear, Patrol Commander Phil Miller, and Investigations Commander Eric Jones.


Posted 1/16/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search