Chesterton Tribune



DeLaney has challenger for Chesterton Town Council seat

Back To Front Page



Chesterton has a contested Town Council race, now that petitions of nomination from Independent candidates have been certified.

Jennifer L. Fisher, an Independent, has stepped up to challenge incumbent Chesterton Town Council member Emerson Delaney (R) for the 5th district seat.

Per Indiana Code, minor party and Independent candidates must file a Petition of Nomination and obtain the signatures of a certain number of registered voters in the district where they are seeking office. That number is equal to 2% of the number of votes cast for Secretary of State in the respective district in the 2018 general election. Petitions were due July 1.

Yesterday was the deadline for Porter County election officials to certify the petitions by verifying the residency and registration status of each petition signer.

Contested Races in Duneland


Town Council 5th District: incumbent Emerson DeLaney (R) and Jennifer L. Fisher (I).

Clerk-treasurer: Courtney Udvare (D) and incumbent Stephanie Kuziela (R).


Town Council 4th District: David Phillips (D) and Jim Burge (R).

Burns Harbor

Town Council at-large (Vote for five): incumbent Eric Hull (D); incumbent Nicholas Loving (D); incumbent Ray Poparad (D); incumbent Toni Biancardi (R); Roseann Bozak (R); Walter Macchiarella (R); and James P. McGee (R).

Beverly Shores

Town Council at-large (Vote for five): At-large (vote for 5): incumbent Geof Benson (D); John M. Blackburn (D); Susan H. Loeb (D); incumbent Matrona Malik (D); Thomas Webber (D); Michael Ganz (R); and Carol A. Westbrook (I).


Posted 7/16/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search