Chesterton Tribune



Duneland Schools hire new principals for Jackson and CMS

Back To Front Page


The Duneland School Corporation has named new principals at Jackson Elementary and Chesterton Middle School for the 2019-2020 school year.

Jackson Elementary

Samuel J. Marshall has been named the new principal at Jackson Elementary School. Marshall replaces Dr. Linda Rugg, who resigned in June after 19 years as Jackson’s principal.

Marshall earned his undergraduate degree from Western Michigan University and his Masters degree from Ball State University. He received his building-level administrator license in 2017.

Marshall began his teaching career at Chesterton High School in 2009 and was simultaneously hired as a part-time dean of students at Westchester Intermediate School in 2015. He has continued in both positions since.

Chesterton Middle School

Michael Hamacher has been named the new principal at Chesterton Middle School. Hamacher replaces Mike Megyesi, who resigned after eight years as principal at CMS.

Hamacher earned his undergraduate degree in secondary education and his graduate degree in educational leadership from Indiana University Northwest in Gary. He is currently enrolled in a postgraduate program for a specialist degree in education at Indiana State University in Terre Haute.

Hamacher most recently served as the principal of Central Elementary School in Portage for three years. His 20 years of experience include teaching and coaching at the middle and high school levels, being a middle school dean of students/athletic director, and serving as a dean of students/assistant principal for grades 10-12.



Posted 7/17/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search