Chesterton Tribune



CHS Boys Tennis shuts out Portage

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton boys tennis team dominated singles play and cruised to a 5-0 Duneland Athletic Conference victory at Portage on Thursday.

In singles, the Trojans never dropped a game as the trio of Fabio Haiduc (No. 1), Drake Redman (No. 2) and Troy Feller (No. 3) all won by identical 6-0, 6-0 scores.

“Those three guys are going to be a tough 1-2-3 punch to deal with,” Chesterton coach Tom Bour said. “Feller is back in singles where he is more comfortable after a stint at No. 1 doubles and he played like he never missed a beat. Redman and Haiduc are the most experienced players on the team and will only get stronger as the season rolls on.”

In doubles, John Powell and Brock Redman beat Bryan Garrison and Owen Winicky 6-1, 6-2 at No. 1. David Archbald and John Petro had little trouble dispatching Kaden Laskowski and Dylan Stutphin 6-2, 6-2 at No. 2.

“I was very pleased with Archbald and Petro tonight as they stayed together, played smart and attacked the net well,” Bour said. “All four doubles players are seeing extensive varsity time for the first time. It’s not going to look pretty at times, but all four are working hard to strengthen our doubles positions.”

The Trojans return to the court on Tuesday when they travel to Merrillville for a 4 p.m. start.

Chesterton 5, Portage 0


Singles -- 1. Fabio Haiduc (C) def. Oscar Kapinos 6-0, 6-0; 2. Drake Redman (C) def. Cameron Adams 6-0, 6-0; 3. Troy Feller (C) def. Ilija Kirov 6-0, 6-0.

Doubles -- 1. John Powell/Brock Redman (C) def. Bryan Garrison/Owen Winicky 6-1, 6-2; 2. David Archbald/John Petro (C) def. Kaden Laskowski/Dylan Stutphin 6-2, 6-2.

Record: Chesterton 2-0 (1-0 DAC).

Junior Varsity

Chesterton 7, Portage 0

The Chesterton junior varsity had little trouble in sweeping Portage 7-0 on Thursday.

Singles winners for the Trojans were Danny Vear (No. 1) and Connor Potesta (No. 2).

Doubles winners included Ian Condes/Connor Engels (No. 1), Mark Jewison/Alex Henderson (No. 2), Grant Flesher/Adam Royster (No. 3), CJ Adent/Ben Van Wagner (No. 4) and Payton Whalen/Jai Barath (No. 5).


Posted 9/4/2020




Search This Site:

Custom Search