Chesterton Tribune



Ryan Vanderlugt is 2018 District 10 Conservation Officer of the Year

Back To Front Page


Ryan Vanderlugt has been selected as the 2018 District 10 Indiana Conservation Officer of the Year, the Department of Natural Resources is reporting.

Vanderlugt has served as an Indiana Conservation Officer since 2011, originally assigned to Huntington County. In 2014 he was transferred LaPorte County.

Vanderlugt serves as firearms instructor, public safety diver, defensive tactics instructor, use-of-force instructor, active-shooter instructor, drill instructor, background investigator, passenger for hire inspector, breath test operator, and pilot.

He is also a U.S. Army 153 D UH60 Blackhawk helicopter pilot.

District 10 includes Porter, Lake, LaPorte, Jasper, Newton, Pulaski and Starke counties.

The district award puts Vanderlugt in the running for the Pitzer Award, which is awarded to the state’s top conservation officer and is selected from the 10 district award winners.

The Pitzer Award is named after Indiana Conservation Officer James D. Pitzer, who was fatally shot while investigating illegal hunting activity on Jan. 1, 1961, in Jay County.


Posted 3/15/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search