Chesterton Tribune



Candidates sign ethics pledge

Back To Front Page


The Shared Ethics Advisory Commission has invited candidates for all county, town, and township offices in Porter, Lake, and LaPorte counties to sign its Candidate Ethics Action Pledge.

“We are pleased that 138 candidates in our three county area have formally committed to ethics training for public employees,” Commission President Dan Klein said.

Pledge project chair Cal Bellamy added, “In every local election since 2014, the Commission has invited candidates to sign the Pledge and then to follow through on that commitment. This year, we also asked the Democratic and Republican chairs for our three counties to encourage their candidates to sign.”

Presently there are 24 member communities: Porter, Lake, and LaPorte counties; and Crown Point, East Chicago, Gary, Hobart, Lake Station, Portage, Valparaiso, Whiting, Burns Harbor, Cedar Lake, Chesterton, Dyer, Hebron, Highland, Lowell, Merrillville, Munster, Ogden Dunes, St. John, Schererville, and Westville.

Local and countywide candidates signing the pledge:

* For Prosecuting Attorney: incumbent Brian Gensel (R).

* For Clerk: Jessica Bailey (D); Jon Miller (R).

* For Auditor: incumbent Vicki Urbanik (D).

* For Recorder: Lily Schaefer (D); Chuck Harris (R).

* For Sheriff: incumbent David Reynolds (D).

* For Coroner: Randall Wilkening (D); Cyndi Dykes (R).

* For County Commissioner, Center: incumbent Jeff Good (R); Donna Perdue (D).

* For County Council, 1st District: incumbent Andy Bozak (R); Robert Poparad (D).

* For Liberty Township Trustee: Matt Keiser (R).

* For Liberty Township Board: incumbents Jacquelyn Sterling (R) and Terry Dunn (R).

* For Pine Township Trustee: incumbent Andrew P. Himan (D).

* For Pine Township Board: Joseph Wagner (D), Tom Carlson (R).


Posted 10/30/2018




Search This Site:

Custom Search