Chesterton Tribune



In-person early voting begins Tuesday

Back To Front Page


In-person early voting begins Tuesday, May 26.

After the 2020 primary election was postponed to June 2, the Indiana Election Commission implemented no-fault mail-in voting and in-person early voting was curtailed to one week to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Porter County received personal protective equipment (PPE) from the Indiana Secretary of State’s Office last week. Porter County Elections staff have also worked with the County facilities department to create plexiglass barriers to protect poll workers.

Starting May 26, voters can visit any of the five approved early voting sites in Porter County. The locations are:

-Chesterton Town Hall, 726 Broadway, Chesterton

-Union Township Fire Station No.2, 267 N. 600 W., Valparaiso

-Porter County Administration Center, 155 Indiana Avenue, suite 102A, Valparaiso

-Hebron Community Center, 611 N. Main Street, Hebron

-North County Annex, 3560 Willowcreek Road, Portage

The five sites will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. from Tuesday, May 26 through Friday, May 29. They will also be open from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 30 and from 8:30 a.m. to noon on Monday, June 1.

Porter County’s new mobile voter center, a Ford Starcraft 8+2 van outfitted for voting machines and manned by a bipartisan team of poll workers, will also visit several locations that are not served by a nearby early voting site. The schedule for the mobile voter center is as follows:

-Jamestown Apartments, 2810 Winchester Dr., Valparaiso on Tuesday, May 26 from 4 to 7 p.m.

-Oak Tree Village, 254 Sandalwood St., Portage on Wednesday, May 27 from 4 to 7 p.m.

-Kouts Library, 101 E. Daumer Rd., Kouts on Thursday, May 28 from 4 to 7 p.m.

-Luke Oil Gas Station, 298 Melton Rd., Burns Harbor on Friday, May 29 from 4 to 7 p.m.

-South Haven Library, 403 W 700 N, Valparaiso on Saturday, May 30 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.



Posted 5/22/2020




Search This Site:

Custom Search