Chesterton Tribune



Election Day polling places

Back To Front Page


The following are the Duneland polling places for the 2020 presidential primary election Tuesday, June 2, per the Porter County Election Board’s approved list.

Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 6 p.m. Polling locations are listed by Township and precinct.

The Porter County Election Board, along with guidance and resources from the Indiana Secretary of State’s Office, has taken extra precautions to ensure the safety of voters and election workers during in-person voting amid COVID-19.

Plexiglass barriers will separate poll workers from voters, poll workers were provided with personal protective equipment (PPE) from the Secretary of State’s Office, and Porter County voters can vote “contactless” (without directly touching shared surfaces) thanks to a partnership where Family Express corporation has furnished disposable tissue for use at polling places.

Porter County Clerk Jessica Bailey, at a recent Election Board meeting, urged voters who plan to vote on election day to be patient, as added safety measures and required social distancing may increase wait to vote.

Westchester Twp.

Precincts 1 and 10: Chesterton United Methodist Church 434 S. 2nd St., Chesterton

Precinct 3: Bailly Elementary School, 800 S. 5th St., Chesterton

Precincts 4 and 12: Chesterton High School, 2125 S. 11th St., Chesterton

Precincts 5 and 7: Porter Town Hall, 303 Franklin St., Porter

Precinct 6: Dune Acres 1 East Rd., Dune Acres

Precinct 8: Chesterton Town Hall, 726 Broadway, Chesterton

Precincts 9 and 14: Brummitt Elementary School, 2500 Indian Boundary, Chesterton

Precinct 11: Burns Harbor Town Hall 1240 Boo Rd., Burns Harbor

Precinct 13: Indiana Dunes Visitor Center, 1420 Munson Road (12!5 N. Ind. 49) , Porter

Precinct 16: Porter Fire Department, 550 Beam St., Porter

Precinct 17: Ethel Jones Elementary School, 2374 McCool Road, Portage

Precinct 18: Bethlehem Lutheran Church, 2050 W. 1100 N., Chesterton

Jackson Twp.

Precincts 1,2,3,4 and 5: Jackson Elementary School, 811 N. 400 E., Valparaiso

Liberty Twp.

Precinct 1: Liberty Township Fire Station 47 W. 900 N., Chesterton

Precincts 2,5 and 6: Liberty Twp. Middle School Auditorium, 50 W. 900 N., Chesterton

Precinct 3: Faith Memorial Lutheran Church, 753 N. Calumet Ave, Valparaiso

Precincts 4 and 7: Whispering Sands-Community Building, 71 W. US Hwy 6, Valparaiso

Pine Twp.

Precinct 1: Pine Town Hall, 1550 Columbia Ave., Michigan City

Precinct 2: Beverly Shores Administration Building, 500 Broadway, Beverly Shores

BMV extends hours for primary election

The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles will be extending its hours of operation today and Tuesday for the primary election.

Branches will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. today; and from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday.

Branches will be issuing ID cards and driver’s licenses for use as identification at polling places. Appointments are not required for these two days of operation but service is limited to new, amended, renewed, or replacement ID and driver’s licenses for voting purposes.

All other BMV services will not be available today and Tuesday.

Appointments will resume on Wednesday, June 3, and will be required for all transactions. Appointments can be scheduled at

All customers and employees must leave six feet of distance between themselves and others, and wash and sanitize hands frequently. BMV employees must wear masks and customers are strongly encouraged to do so.


Posted 6/1/2020




Search This Site:

Custom Search