Chesterton Tribune



New CHS debaters experience success at annual Munster novice tournament

Back To Front Page


Chesterton High School typically finishes each year as one of the thirty largest programs in the nation. Maintaining the level of success that the team is accustomed to is largely driven by the fact that each year a new group of debaters is expected to replace the members that graduate. While most begin their debate career as a freshman, there are many new debaters (novices) who join during their sophomore and junior years. No matter what grade they are in all debaters are nervous at their first tournament.

The annual Munster novice tournament provides an opportunity to ease the students into the competitive world of debate.

Chesterton dominated the event of Lincoln-Douglas over the weekend, in which two students from opposing schools debated a topic regarding the value of standardized testing in the college admissions process. Gretta Burke (1st place), Mia Enzer (3rd), Jonathan Dickens (4th), and Emily Freundt (5th) all went undefeated across their four rounds of competition. Emma Replin dropped a close decision in her final round to finish with a 3-1 record and 6th place.

Chesterton also won the event of Policy Debate, in which teams of two debate a reduction in foreign arms sales from the United States. Megan Nowka and Riley Hawksworth only dropped one decision on their way to winning the tournament. Josh Fieffer and Jonathon McClure finished in fourth place.

Congressional debate was split between two chambers that never competed against each other. That meant that awards were split by chamber. CHSís Grant Flesher won chamber B after debating pieces of legislation regarding artificial intelligence in medical systems, a national sales tax, banning plastic water bottles, and privatizing the post office. Chamber A saw Leah Rockford place second, closely followed by teammates Trina Gonzalez (2nd), and Adam Royster (8th).

CHSís team of Morgan Glossinger and Atmikha Jeeju won three out of their four debates on whether the European Union should join Chinaís belt and road initiative. They were one of three teams to finish 3-1, but placed third because of the tie-breakers. The teamís of Avery McCurdy and Chloe Vanderlin (4th), Saanya Agarwal and Jackson Jessen (7th), and Evan Cowsert and Zander Fish (8th) also placed.




Posted 10/7/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search