Chesterton Tribune



CHS Show Choirs finish successful season

Back To Front Page


The Chesterton High School Show Choirs have been working since August on their competition shows which they premiered at CHS on January 12. Since then they have competed six times in four states across the country - each time, showcasing the talent, commitment and hard work these students possess.

The Show Choir program is run by Director Kristin Morris and a team of choreographers and designers who work year round to develop and cultivate two successful show concepts. Morris began the process for this year last May and premiered it to the students at their annual camp in August - from there it was all about putting all of the elements together and implementing them through practice and performance.

"The kids in this program are amazing and work tirelessly for seven months to create, develop, fine tune and perform the shows they are presented with. The journey is my favorite part" said Morris. This year's show themes are "Renegades & Runaways" for the Drifters and "Moments that Matter" for the Sandpipers.

This season the show choirs traveled to Illinois, Mississippi, Indianapolis, Ft. Wayne, and Wisconsin to compete against some of the best show choirs across the country. The students had a successful season (competition results posted below).

Chesterton High School has the only competitive program in the area and the students are proud to serve as ambassadors to their community throughout the course of each season.

Congratulations to the Sandpipers, Drifters and their band, ‘The Business’ on their tireless efforts to bring energizing performances to stages across the country!

Catch their final performance of the year at the annual Spring Revue concert on Friday, May 17, at 7:00 p.m., so mark your calendars.

Season Results

2019 Show Choir results: MT. ZION (IL)--Drifters: 1st Runner-Up Unisex Division; Sandpipers: 4th Runner-Up Overall.

HUNTINGTON NORTH (IN)--Drifters: 4th Runner-Up; Sandpipers: Division Grand Champs & 1st Runner-Up Overall; The Business: Best Band Overall; Alec Malenfant - Solo Competition Winner.

FRANKLIN CENTRAL (IN)-- Drifters: 4th Runner-Up Unisex Division; Sandpipers: 6th Runner-Up Large Mixed Division.

OAK GROVE (MS)--Drifters: 2nd Runner-Up Unisex Division; Sandpipers: 3rd Runner-Up.

CRAIG (WI)--Drifters: Division Grand Champs w/Best Vocals & Best Female Soloist in a show; Sandpipers: 6th Runner-Up and Spirit Award Winners; The Business: Best Band Unisex Division; Rebecca Lane - Solo Competition Winner.

HERSCHER (IL)--Drifters: 1st Runner-Up Unisex Division & 3rd Runner-Up Overall; Sandpipers: Division Grand Champs w/Best Vocals and Best Choreography & 1st Runner-Up Overall; The Business: Best Band (Unisex Division & Large Mixed Division); Paige Fowler - Solo Competition Winner.

Members of the choirs & band

Drifters members are Lissette Allison, Jayne Bartlett, Ally Burcham, Madisoncary, Meghan Cary, Izzy Cindric, Kassie Colvin, Angela Conrad, Rylie Dhaemers, Abigail Didonna, Lea Edwards, Mia Enzer, Kayla Harris, Kameryn Hipp, Taylor Hisaw, Barbara Holsclaw, Sophie Hruskocy, Sarah Kaiser, Caitlin Kovalan, Ava Kruper, Mackenna Lee, Maggie Lesher, Isabelle Maddex, Jessica Manojlovic, Liah Mauger, Faye Mauke, Emily Mayersky, Hannah Mcelroy, Amanda Michael, Delaney Mitchell, Lauren Olson, Gracey Perrine, Ella Polite, Lexi Polite, Rhianna Ritz, Delaney Scheller, Greta Schmahl, Maria Schmahl, Madison Slivka, Haleigh Smith, Gwen Storey, Natalie Streeter, Kayla Szymanski, Keira Wallace, Emily Wegner, and Kayla Whelan.

Members of the Sandpipers Eric Ailes, Agia Amezcua Bone, Calvin Anders, David Archbald, Sid Augustyn, Miranda Brandt, Zach Bryant, Ryan Callaway, Emily Conway, Paige Fowler, Hannah Geiser, Tyler Gudeman, Aidan Healy, Emma Healy, Elle Hodge, Paul Kennedy, Emma Kitchel, Aaron Koch, John Koch, Marcus Kritlow, Becca Lane, Ben Larimer, Julia Larson, Savannah Lee, Ella Lesnick, Kyle Liss, Alec Malenfant, Madelyn Matthys, Christian McCord, Jackie Neely, Grace Pace, Blaine Reyes, Priscilla Sabourin, Caroline Scheidt, Nick Sierra, Mackenzie Simmons, Ariana Smith, Caleb Van Nevel, Anthony Watkins, and Alex Wierzbicki.

Members of the band ‘The Business’ include Keyon Allen, Colin Campbell, Adam Davis, Garrett Fairbanks, Ryan Herr, Sam Houghteling, Caden Mockler, Lucy Novreske, Abby Palmer, Emerson Stobbe, and Hunter Torres.



Posted 3/25/2019




Search This Site:

Custom Search